Lucky dip

Or rather lucky scatter…

I have been reading Jackie French books and she makes it sound so easy… Scatter the seeds, mulch, water and voila self sufficiency achieved!

Well I figured it wouldn’t hurt to try… So while I dream of my huge veggie garden surrounded by lavender and other flowers, I have decided to apply Jackie’s teachings and combine them with those of another lady I like, Flylady who says we should just take baby steps. 

I have the large round veggie bed I used for tomatoes last year. It is a hugelkultur underneath and on top it’s got all the animal bedding of the winter before last, plus worms. I was surprised at how well the tomatoes did there last year and I’m hoping some will come up spontaneously but I figured some peas could go well there this year. Peas fix nitrogen, nitrogen promotes leaves so I am adding lettuce there too. 

Result, I just planted:

  • Sugar snap peas
  • Mesculin mix (rocket, spinach and some type of red lettuce)
  • Coriander… Because I like it

The soil in this patch is pretty good now, dark and moist, full of fat worms. I put a lot of seeds so hopefully some will sprout. I also left two plants that made it through winter: French sorrel and red Chards.

the sorrell and chards
 
Then there’s my failed attempt at straw bale gardening from last year. The lavender bush in it is super happy but nothing else grew. I threw some of the same seeds in there plus pumpkins. It’s a bit early but worth a try.., we’ll see if anything sprouts now that the bales have decomposed a bit more…

Leave a Reply

