Making chèvre cheese

I haven’t been making much cheese lately so when I set off to make a batch of chevre yesterday I checked this blog for instructions, but realised I didn’t have any.

So here is what I did:

  1. Got some fresh milk from my Tag (goat) 
  2. While still warm from her I poured in some chevre cultures and stirred
  3. Left it sitting overnight at room temperature
  4. This morning I strained it into a cloth
  5. And it is now hanging to drain the last of the whey out.
  6. EASY! 
    straining the cheese
     

This is usually delicious as a cheese on crackers or in salads but this time I’ll try making ravioli with our own silverbeet and eggs for the pasta.

i just drain the cheese off a cupboard handle
Leave a Reply

