Sourdough starter experiment

I am 7 months pregnant and I haven’t been game enough to drink my usual ferments like Kombucha or milk kefir until baby is out. Sad, as I think the extra probiotics would be good for both of us, but I am just a bit nervous about consuming raw products right now, so the above have been out, and so has been raw milk from my lovely goat Tag and any raw dairy products I was learning to make from it.

With my 5 yr old daughter starting school, I got back into bread making for her lunchbox sandwitches and I thought this might be a good time to try sourdough. Besides it’s been horribly hot lately which I totally hate so I figured I could use the heat to my advantage and ferment something I can eat while pregnant and hopefully will give me a different bread for school lunches, too.

I know people who have the starter but I thought it’d be nice to try and make my own if I can. I checked out a few videos and recipes which called from all sorts of things from potato water to pineapple juice to just water and flour. From what I gathered, all you want is a source of food for the wild yeast in your kitchen to eat so that it can move into your starter jar and live happily ever after. Yeast likes sugar in the form of sugar or carbohydrates so I am trying the following recipe which I have made up from a bunch of others. If it doesn’t work I’ll follow an actual recipe next time, but I was curious to do my own experiment first 🙂

My starter recipe:

  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup wholemeal flour
  • 1 Tbs honey
  • 2 Tbs raw sugar
  • Filtered rain water to cover up the whole thing
  • Stir

Note that I have used raw sugar and filtered rain water not to be fancy or because they are particularly necessary but because that’s what I had at home. I am sure regular sugar and tap water are fine, though I would let the chlorine evaporate first if you are on town water.

So now I have covered my jar with a colander to keep bugs away but hopefully let the yeast in and set it on my counter. 

Will report back in a couple of days… 

sourdough starter
my sourdough starter experiment…

UPDATE: I tried using this starter 24 hrs after making it as I could see some bubbles but the bread didn’t rise. I left the starter there a couple more days and it went moldy so I had to throw it out. Oh well… I am now waiting to get some off another person and next time I cook potatoes I might try using a recipe which involves potato water to make my own… We’ll get there 🙂 

Leave a Reply

