Sometimes things are SIMPLE

Usually things are always harder than you think, so it’s nice when things are just simple. 

Today I received my first proper soap molds and just couldn’t resist trying them right away. I tried the simplest ever recipe as I search for something I can use for a soap making workshop I’m running next September. The recipe is as simple as they come and my first ever recipe without milk.

Strangely, in spite of it only having 2 oils, this recipe seems balanced according to soap calc so I can’t wait to try it.

Of course, me being me, I didn’t review the paperwork that came with the molds properly so my recipe only filled 1 mold and 1/2. Oh well, I’ll know for next time.

The recipe is :

Coconut oil 76deg 29% and olive oil 71%. Plus water as 38% of oils and lye with 5% superfat.

To be honest I don’t know if my coconut is 76 or 92 deg but it doesn’t seem to make a difference, I mixed oils and lye water when they were both between 100F and 130F in fact I think the water was 118 and the oils 110. 

With so much olive oil it may need a longer cure but we’ll see 🙂

  

Leave a Reply

