Smooth and crunchy 

I tried making hand lotion today. I picked a recipe without water so that it would not require a preservative. This is the recipe I followed. 

  • 2 parts olive oil (or other soft oil)
  • 1 part coconut oil
  • 1 part beeswax

i got beeswax from our neighbours who have hives. I was surprised to see how crumbly and seemingly impure it was but when I dissolved it in the double boiler with the other ingredients  it dissolved almost completely. I just strained out the rest.

I was pretty happy with the end result given how easy and quick it is to make , but it is very hard so I started re-melting it and gradually adding more oil until a reached the final ratios as follows:

  • 4 parts olive oil (or other soft oil)
  • 1 part rice bran oil
  • 1 part coconut oil
  • 1 part beeswax

I can add or subtract one or two olive oil parts to make it softer for winter and harder for summer.

Clean up is best done with boiling water!

first ever lotion attempt
 
I also made ciabatta bread with left over whey from the last time I made cheese.  

 

my boomerang ciabatta… i bent it to fit it in the oven. This recipe makes 2
 
I have made this recipe before and love it. It always amazes me how you can make crusty bread in a conventional oven. If your Italian is up to it, you can find the recipe here . Basically you take :

60 ml warm water

1 teaspoon of sugar

1 dose of dry yeast

Mix them together in a cup much bigger that 60 ml and wait about 10 minutes until it is all frothy… If your cup us big enough it won’t spill right away!

Add the frothy yeast mixture to :

500 g of bakers plain flour

Salt to taste

315 ml of water ( or whey in my case)

Knead and let it rise until double in size. Then form it into a loaf and let it rise again for about 30 minutes. Finally split it into 2 or 4 smaller loaves and let it rise for another 90 minutes. 

Make sure it is well sprinkled with flour at all stages.

Put into a very hot oven for about 10 minutes and… Try to leave alone until cool… Or eat it hot!

Leave a Reply

