It’s cock-a-doodle-doo again

since out Roger died I have really been missing the cock-a-doodle-doos even if they were often at 4 am.

Today I am happy to report Larry has arrived at Tatum Hills. Larry is a six months old Maran rooster who was attached by a more dominant fellow at his old place and needed a new home. He is supposedly placid and well mannered so hopefully he’ll work well for us. 

maran
Larry, the new Maran rooster

Edits free losing my beloved Roger I could not bring myself to get another look-alike so I decided to get a different breed. Looking at my current flock, and given that I’d rather not get a whole bunch of new hens, I decided to get a Maran as I have 3 girls of the same breed and they are pretty and good layers. I am not aiming to have enough fertile eggs to sell them, I just want a few pure breed eggs to put under my broodies.

Leave a Reply

